This is my first attempt at reviewing another author’s work. All comments welcome!

hername-200Blurb

Madison Andrews believes she has found the love of her life…but only in her dreams. She is convinced the woman is real and she seeks out their life together and the love she believes is her destiny. But how can Madison find the love of her life…and convince herself and her friends she’s not just escaping the death of her mother?

Madison Andrews has spent her entire life–unsuccessfully–searching for love. She begins having vivid dreams of the same woman every night, and soon, Madison believes this woman is the love she has been searching for. Madison’s dreams become more intense and she realizes the dreams she’s having recreate moments taken from actual events from her life–and this woman is there for all of it. Madison searches for her, but how can she find a woman she knows everything about… and yet nothing? She doesn’t even know her name.

EXCERPT
Now, I laid down my fork and leaned into my seat. I knew she didn’t want to talk about this anymore, but I did. “This all sounds crazy to you, and maybe in the beginning, it was something to joke about, but now, I’m not sure. These pictures were taken directly out of my life, and this woman was in every one of them. You can’t tell me I just dreamed it from memory, because my memory isn’t that good! The photos were identical all the way from the clothes we wore, to the smile on our faces. Hell, even the background was the same! She was the only thing that was different. How could that be?”

I stared at her, waiting for a response as she took it all in.

“Like I said on the phone, I just don’t know what you want me to say. I’m not sure what you’re asking me. Is it weird? Yeah, totally, but I’m no dream expert, and neither are you. Like I said before, maybe it’s your subconscious taking over. I’m sure there’s a logical explanation, and it probably has some fancy scientific name.”

“She’s my wife,” I said flatly. “I saw a picture of us from our wedding, and we looked like we belonged together. We know each other. I mean, really know each other. I wish you could see us together, because you’ve never seen me this way with anyone before.”

“And what way is that?”

“In love,” I answered.

“In love,” Shelly repeated and then pushed herself away from the table. “Well, Maddy, me seeing you with her is something that will never happen. Do you wanna know why that will never happen?”

“I know why you think that will never happen, but that’s where you’re wrong.” I stared at her and said, “I’m just gonna come out and say it. I think she’s real.”

My Review – ★★★★★

Another thoroughbred from the Musa Publishing stable, Her Name is a beautifully presented eBook, elegantly formatted and with stunning cover art. I was fortunate to win a copy of fellow author Alicia’s book because I would not normally read this genre and it gave me the opportunity to do so. I don’t have an e-reader so had to sit up at my clunky old desktop computer but I soon forgot I wasn’t in a comfy armchair with a paperback. The quality of the writing drew me in and I immediately liked Madison, the main character. There is great emotional depth in this novella and Madison’s loneliness is especially poignant and depicted with great skill; I was soon eager to find out more about the mysterious, nameless woman who haunts her dreams.

Alicia Joseph explores a subject I have always found fascinating – how one small thing we do, or don’t do, can have far-reaching consequences. Our lives are full of more missed chances than we know. Anyway, no spoilers! Let’s just say there is a paranormal element in this work that the author deals with very cleverly, and the ending is not the one I expected. I could see this novella being made into a film; it reminded me somewhat of Sliding Doors.

Ladies who love other ladies aren’t the only people who will enjoy Alicia’s beautifully crafted novella. I am definitely a fan now and I hope many more books of the same quality will flow from her pen in the future.

Author Bio

Alicia Joseph grew up in Westchester, Illinois. This is her first published novella. She is currently working on a new lesbian romance novel. When not writing, Alicia enjoys volunteering with animals, reading, and spending time with her many nieces and nephews.

Buy Links:
Musa Publishinghttp://tinyurl.com/pdlx357
Amazon .comhttp://tinyurl.com/nzjtvf3

7 Comments

July 17, 2014 · 3:32 pm

7 responses to “My Review of Her Name by Alicia Joseph

  1. That’s the way to write ’em, Carol. Five straight stars 🙂

  2. It’s a lovely book, Jane. I don’t know if I did it justice technically; can’t get those damned links to work lol. I guess I’ll get there one day.

  3. I think you did a good job. You said what you thought, why you liked it and gave a sample of the writing. What more could an author ask? Except: when are you doing mine? 🙂

  4. I concur with Jane: this was a very well written review and made me want to read the book – what more could an author ask for?

  5. Jane, thanks. You are on my list!

  6. Thank you so much for your review, Carol! I’m so glad you enjoyed the book, even though it wasn’t in your genre. 🙂

Leave a Reply

