The Work in Progress

transition2(Artwork by CHRISTIANNA CASSISI, who is the next to be interviewed on my Artists & Artisans Blog – coming soon!)

Trying to find something to blog about this week has been a problem. The days flew by and suddenly it was blog time again and I hadn’t a clue what to write about. Fortunately, I just remembered what a friend said to me a while back; if I got stuck, I should just tell readers what I’d been up to.

So what have I been up to this week? I don’t mean the boring stuff like earning a living, cooking my tea and watering the plants; I mean the author stuff because this is an author’s blog after all.

Well, guess what; last week I made a start on my new novel. It was some drivel I wrote in my teens and it travelled with me all over the UK for well over three decades. (My debut novel The Exile of Elindel did the same. I’m sensing a pattern here.) It was Tuesday, 19th August, and my plans had been scuppered so I decided, rather than mope about, I would unearth that yellowing manuscript and see if I could do something with it. As a blueprint, it was merely a guide; the story seems to be going in a different direction from what I originally intended.

So, after many barren months, I now have a Work in Progress! I can hardly believe it. I do creative writing for a couple of clients – (I’m in Ghost-Writing Club and you can guess what the first rule of Ghost-Writing Club is) – but it’s all fact-based non-fiction. It’s not the same as letting your imagination soar, creating characters and situations, and inventing plot twists to enthral your readers. Suddenly, I feel like a proper writer again and my only obstacle is lack of time. When I am able to return to my WIP, the words just flow out of me. It’s exhilarating.

The working title of this grand opus is The Curse of Cankerfret Castle. I’ve left the world of elves and magic for a while to try my hand at a different genre: the paranormal thriller.

I’m not even sure if the book will work. I am enjoying the act of creation and I resent time spent on other things, but only when I have penned those two magical words – The End – will I have any idea if revisiting an old manuscript was a wise move. Only then will I be able to see if it hangs together or not.

So why am I telling you this, dear reader? Because now I’ve told you, I feel obliged to finish it. If I don’t, I will look extremely foolish, lazy and incompetent. I also have to make it work. If the thing is a complete turkey, I’ll be a laughing stock. Luckily for me I work better under pressure.

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “The Work in Progress

  1. Oh good! Another book in another genre that I love: I look forward to reading it in the not too distant future. I love that painting at the top of the blog by Christianna Cassisi by the way: wonderful imagery!

  2. clarissajohal

    Good for you! (And keeping up a blog is hard work. You’re doing great!!)

  3. Two books is always better than one, and a good paranormal thriller is always fun. I do hope you’ll be back in the land of elves someday

  4. Ha! What a great strategy, Carol. Now get to work!!!!

Leave a Reply

