Read Dating at the Deepings Literary Festival

libraryThe first ever Deepings Literary Festival, 2017, saw me attending the first author event of my writing career. It was a first for England too when on Saturday, 29th April, the library in Market Deeping, Lincolnshire, held their read-dating event. Mindful of how lucky I was to be invited to join nine other local authors on this occasion, my social phobia nevertheless makes this type of thing very stressful. Let’s face it, most authors love to write but find the self-promotion side of a writing career difficult.read date

The idea behind the read-dating event is very simple. The authors are seated at small tables throughout the library and each member of the public selects who they want to talk to. After ten minutes, a bell is rung and they move on to another author. Book swag is handed out and books are sold at the main desk. Tea, coffee and biscuits are provided free of charge.

read date 1When I took my seat at the table allotted to me, I glanced to my right and saw a small display for the book Feel the Fear and Do It Anyway. This sign from the cosmos made me smile, I can tell you, and of course it turned out to be good advice!

I met some wonderful people; some were also authors, or wanted to be, and all were avid readers. One lady had met Krystyna Porsz, the subject of my eBook Being Krystyna, and she thanked me for writing the story.

I’d like to thank the staff and volunteers of Deepings Community Library for organising this thoroughly enjoyable event. They are such a friendly, enthusiastic bunch of people and I know the other authors there would agree with me that they helped make the event a great success. Although this was their first read-dating event, I’m sure it won’t be their last and I hope they invite me back next year. I enjoyed every minute of it!main desk

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Read Dating at the Deepings Literary Festival

  1. patlongmuir

    I do hope they have another Read Dating event next year and you will have another book out by then to share! Well done Carol.

  2. This is a brilliant idea! I am totally going to attempt to organize something like this at my library… Once I’ve got a couple extra boxes of books lying around!

    • Dianna, it was great fun! Ten minutes is just enough time for an author to describe their book to a potential reader and answer a few questions before it all gets weird lol. Even if you don’t have books to sell, as long as you have book swag to hand out, go for it.

      • Hahaha, interacting with people can be so nerve wracking, can’t it? And there will be swag… Still working on some killer designs!

Leave a Reply

